Swans Mix It Up in the British Virgin Islands

Low-key racing and cruising draw crews of 26 boats to the annual Caribbean event.

Swan Rendezvous

Yacht Shots

Nautor’s Swan saw a record entry this year for the 8th edition of the ClubSwan Caribbean Rendezvous in the British Virgin Islands from March 14 to 19, 2011. For the 2011 cruising event, 26 yachts built by Nautor’s Swan attended, with more than 100 participants enjoying the delights of the Caribbean.

The ClubSwan Rendezvous is designed to offer structured cruising and social occasions organized by Nautor’s Swan with the option of low-key racing in some of the world’s most sought-after sailing locations. The Caribbean element to the rendezvous suits those intent on enjoying local island hospitality mixed with Swan cruising organization taking the fleet to a range of island stopovers.

This year the cruising route started at Bitter End Yacht Club and took in Virgin Gorda, Norman Island, Jost Van Dyke, and Marina Cay in 6 days of comfortable activity.


The ClubSwan Rendezvous regattas are an ideal way to cruise top global yachting destinations with families and friends as part of the crew. Ample opportunities exist to meet fellow Swan sailors during relaxed shore side social events including wine tasting, waterside dinners, and awards ceremonies.

2011 ClubSwan Caribbean Rendezvous participants included:

Avocation, Swan 48, Hank Schmitt; Masquerade, Swan 46, Roger Motson; Lionessa of Douglas, Swan 66 FD, Mikael Lilius/Berndt Brunow; Laughing Lady, Swan 44, Andrew Lippman; Olivia Lee, Swan 56, Chris Fuller; Toucan II, Swan 66 FD, Anthony Greener; Clevelander, Swan 82s, Jonathan/Rebecca Neeley; Patriot, Swan 48, Brad Miller; Shaka, Swan 46, Alfred Paulsen; Godot, Swan 66, Pol Fevang; Blue Pigeon, Swan 53, Marvin Gordon; Geronimo, Swan 651, Erik Veldhuizen; Sea Eagle, Swan 68, Keith Yeoman; Clover III, Swan 56, David Fraizer/Neal Finnegan; Affinity, Swan 48, Jack Desmond; Naia, Swan 53, Bob Beltrano; Cienega, Swan 48, John Callahan; Mensae, Swan 56, Erling Christensen; Sleeper, Swan 44, Jonty Layfield; Gone with the Wind, Swan 57, Lisa Reismann; Nakesa, Swan 57, Graham Applin; Glisse, Swan 62, Twanette Tharp; Meri Balletti, Swan 53, Gerry Pack; Missy, Swan 66, Patrick Schwarz Schutte; Valkyrie, Swan 78, Will Apold; Nettie, Stephen Devoe/Clem Napolitano.


The highly coveted Spirit of Swan Award was presented by Nautor’s Swan board members Berndt Brunow and Sir Anthony Greener to the crew of the Swan 66 Godot from Norway, who sailed the week including children in their crew with a philosophy of fun with a competitive spirit. The award for Best Boat was given to Twanette Tharp’s Swan 62 Glisse, following an intensive judging session.
For more details contact Nautor’s Swan (