2013 Ocean Cruising Club Awards

Circumnavigators Jeanne Socrates and Laura Dekker and volunteer weather router Herb Hilgenberg are among this year's recipients.

Ocean Cruising Club

The Ocean Cruising Club (The OCC) has announced the recipients of the OCC Awards for 2013. Each year the OCC recognizes the achievements of ordinary individuals doing extraordinary things on the world’s oceans and brings those achievements to the attention of the sailing community at large. This year, the recipient of the club’s premier award for members, The Barton Cup, is Jeanne Socrates, who at the age of 70 is the oldest woman to circumnavigate the world solo, non-stop.

Two recipients share the OCC Award of Merit, an OCC award that recognizes both members and non-members: Herb Hilgenberg and Laura Dekker. Herb assisted blue water sailors with ship-routing and weather advice for more than 25 years. Laura has shown the world that being the youngest circumnavigator was not derived from seeking fame and fortune but rather from a tremendous passion for sailing.

See the full release from the OCC for all the award winners.